New Vinyl Releases, March 2021

Posted by

Friday, March 26th

Badfinger – No Matter What, Revisiting The Hits
The Clean – Mister Pop
Clever Girls – Constellations
Noga Erez – Kids
Fleur De Lys – Circles, The Ultimate Fleur De Lys
Grandaddy – Sophtware Slump On A Wooden Piano
Guided By Voices – Propeller
Slim Harpo – Baby Scratch My Back
Japan – Quiet Life
Lord Finesse – Awakening
Martin Newell – The Off White Album
Panic At The Disc – Death of A Bachelor
The Peacers – Blexxed
Carl Perkins – The Dance Album of Carl Perkins
Pylon – Gyrate
Spoon – Gimme Fiction
Steep Canyon Rangers – Arm In Arm
Joe Strummer – Assembly
Aaron Lee Tasjan – Tasjan! Tasjan! Tasjan!
Tomahawk – Tonic Immobility On their 20th anniversary (that’s a good hook to sell a tour livestream, right?), they finally return with their fifth full-length album, Tonic Immobility [Ipecac], in 2021. The guys—guitarist Duane Denison [the Jesus Lizard, Unsemble, etc.], vocalist Mike Patton [Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas, etc.], drummer John Stanier [Helmet, Battles, etc.], and bassist Trevor “field mouse” Dunn [Mr. Bungle, Fantômas, etc.]—survey where they’ve come from only to leap ahead once more.

Thawed out from their slumber, they sound like, well, Tomahawk…

“Tonic Immobility is almost a summary of everything we’ve done,” states Duane. “There are references to previous things spread throughout the album as well as new territory. On any of our albums, you’ll find those faster, high energy, abrasive, and dissonant songs. You’ll also find the slower, atmospheric, groove- and tension-based moments too. There’s always been a touch of, dare I say, Latin music in the form of Bossa Nova or flamenco-influenced guitar. All of those things appear on this record.”

They’ve built quite the foundation since their first record, Tomahawk, in 2001. Following Mit Gas [2003] and Anonymous [2007], they dropped Oddfellows during 2013. It marked their best debut, reaching #9 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums Chart. Not to mention, critics really got it! The A.V. Club gave it a grade of “A-,” Revolver Magazine rated it “4-out-of-5 stars,” and Pitchfork chimed in, “This lurid, thorny, profoundly weird music–just comes tearing out.” All kinds of touring and festivals followed before the members went back to their gazillion other gigs in 2014. Fast forward a few years later, Duane, John, and Trevor laid down initial tracks in various studios around Nashville with co-producer Paul Allen. Firing the music across the country via the interweb, Mike recorded and engineered his vocals up in San Francisco.

Voila, Tonic Immobility.

“Tonic Immobility could just be something in the air we’re feeling,” says Duane. “It’s been a rough year between the Pandemic and everything else. A lot of people feel somewhat powerless and stuck as they’re not able to make a move without second guessing themselves or worrying about the outcomes. For as much as the record possibly reflects that, it’s also an escape from the realities of the world. We’re not wallowing in negativity or getting political. For me, rock has always been an alternate reality to everything else. I feel like this is yet another example.”
Tune-Yards – Sketchy
Sara Watkins – Under The Pepper Tree
June Weaver – Flock
World Party – Bang
Xiu Xiu – Oh No
Neil Young – Young Shakespeare Live Neil from 1971. Regular and deluxe version
Various Artists – Cumbia Cumbia 1 & 2

Friday, March 19th

Jon Batiste – We Are
Candy & The Kisses – The Scepter Sessions
Chris Cornell – No One Sings Like You Anymore
Lana Del Rey – Chemtrails Over the Country Club, Regular or coloured vinyl
Steve Earle – J.T.
Explorer’s Club – Rarities Volume 1
Fleet Foxes – Shore
Henry Grimes – Call
Valerie June – The Moon & The Stars
Middle Kids – Today We’re The Greatest
The Muffs – The Muffs
The Prodigy – Their Law, The Singles 1990-2005
Ringo Starr – Zoom In
Teenage Halloween – Teenage Halloween
Triptides – Alter Echoes
Still Corners – Last Exit
Neil Young – After The Gold Rush 50th Anniversary Edition
Various Artists – No Cover – Carpark’s 20th Anniversary

Friday, March 12th

Atmosphere – God’s Bathroom Floor 7″
Liam Bailey – Champion remix w/Black Thought and Ugly Truth remix w/Lee Scratch Perry 7″
Blue Oyster Cult – Some Enchanted Evening
Caamp – Officer of Love 7″
Cibo Matto – Viva! La Woman
Jarvis Cocker – Jarvis
El Michels Affair – Merkit Gem 7″
Gang of Four – 77-81 Box Set
Knowler,Cameron & Eli Winter – Anticpation
Lake Street Dive – Obviously
DJ Muggs The Black Goat – Dies Occidendum
Soul Asylum – Let Your Dim Light Shine Limited to 500 copies pressed on root beer brown colored vinyl
Tindersticks – Distractions
The Upsetters – The Return of Django
Rob Zombie – The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy
Various Artists – Colemine Soul Slabs Vol. 2

Friday, March 5th

75 Dollar Bill – Little Big Band Live At Tubby’s
Chet Baker – In New York
Balthazar – Band
Dave Brubeck – Time Outtakes
Captin Beefheart – Doc At The Radar Station
Don Cherry – Cherry Jam
Explorers Club – Rarities Volume 1
Fruit Bats – The Pet Parade
Ron Gallo – Peacemeal
Goat Girl – On All Fours
Japan – Quiet Life
Kings of Leon – When You See Yourself
La Lupe – Tito Puente Swings, La Lupe Sings
Doug McKechnie – San Francisco Moog
Parquet Courts – Light Up Gold
Reigning Sound – A Little Bit More Time / Lonely Ghost
Nina Simone – Best of Nina Simone
Suss – Promise
Toots In The Maytals – Just Like That
Weather Station – Igno Rance
Soundtrack – Marvel’s Spider-Man Original Video Game Soundtrack, music by John Paesano
Various Artists – Africa Obscura, Reloved Volume 1
Various Artists – Africa Obscura, Reloved Volume 2
Various Artists – Japanese Funk 1970 – 1977
Various Artists – Numero 95, Virtual Experience Software

Leave a Reply