Posted by

FRIDAY, MARCH 31st, 2017

Bob Dylan – Triplicate

FRIDAY, MARCH 24th, 2017

Dorothy Ashby – Soft Winds – The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby with Terry Pollard, Jimmy Cobb & Herman Wright
Bardo Pond – Under The Pines
Ben Folds Five – Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner

Brokeback – Illinois River Valley Blues Featuring members of Tortoise, Eleventh Dream Day, The Steve Gunn Band and Tweedy
Cairo Gang – Untouchable
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band – Big Machine
Vic Chesnutt – Is The Actor Happy?
Gene Clark – Lost Studio Sessions 1964-1982
Cooper-Moore & Mad King Edmund – Revered Eddie Bones 7″
Creation – Making Time 7″
Craig Finn – We All Want The Same Things
Dire Wolves – Excursions To Cloudland
Ethio Stars / Tukul Band featuring Mulatu Astatke – Addis 1988
Eric Gales – Middle of the Road
Gin Blossoms – Congratulations I’m Sorry
Gold Star – Big Blue
Dexter Gordon – Take The A Train
Jesus & Mary Chain – Damage & Joy
Bridget Kearney – Won’t Let You Down –
In the 12 years she has toured the world as a member of the soul-pop sensation Lake Street Dive, Bridget Kearney has fine-tuned many things — voracious collaborating, acclaimed bass playing, and harmonizing to name a few. But the skill she has honed most obsessively is songwriting. While still a student at The New England Conservatory of Music, Kearney won the grand prize in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest, a harbinger of things to come. Now, Kearney steps into the spotlight with her first solo effort, a wry, bighearted pop album entitled Won’t Let You Down. The record, like its title, promises not to disappoint. Shades of The Beatles, Wilco, Fleetwood Mac and even Nick Cave can be detected, as the album swerves from ‘60s pop to modern indie-rock.
Kissing Is A Crime – S/T
Lift To Experience – The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads
Paul McCartney – Flowers In The Dirt
Janka Nabay & The Bubu Gang – Build Music
Otis Redding – Live At The Whisky A Go Go
Skatalites – Foundation Ska
Wayne Snow – Freedom TV
Spiral Stairs – Doris & The Daggers 
New record from Scott Kannberg of Pavement & Preston School of Industry.
Trementina – 810
Wolf Eyes – Undertow
Free poster and bonus CD for while supplies last
Various Artists – Lord Have Mercy – The Soulful Gospel of Checker Records
Various Artists – Hustle! Reggae Disco, Kingston∗London∗New York∗

FRIDAY, MARCH 17th, 2017

Anohni – Paradise
Bulent Arel – Electronic Music 1960-1973
Arrested Development – 3 Years, 5 Months
Batmobile – Brand New Blisters
Jorge Ben – Tropical
Califone – Quicksand/Cradlesnakes
Gary Clark Jr. – Live/North America 2016
Counting Crows – August & Everything After
Counting Crows – Recovering The Satellites
The Creation – Action Painting
Dad Can Dance – Aion
Dead Can Dance – The Serpent’s Egg
Dead Can Dance – Spiritchaser
Depeche Mode – Spirit
Peter Gabriel – First Album
Peter Gabriel – Second Album
Peter Gabriel – Third Album
Peter Gabriel – Up
Grails – Black Tar Prophecies
Grails – Take Refuge In Clean Living
John Lee Hooker – That’s Where It’s At!
Howlin’ Wolf – The Real Folk Blues Pic Disc
Syl Johnson – My Funky Funky Band
Syl Johnson – We Do It Together
Nikki Lane – Highway Queen Pic Disc
Conor Oberst – Salutations
Pinback – Some Offcell Voices
Public Memory – Veil of Counsel
Pulp – Different Class (Limited edition of 1000 peach coloured vinyl)
Roy Robert – Roy Roberts Experience
Judee Sill – Live In London
Sorority Noise – You’re Not As ______As You Think
Spoon – Hot Thoughts
Joe Strummer & The Mescaleros – Live At Acton Town Hall London, 11/15/2002
Yma Sumac – Mambo!

FRIDAY, MARCH 10th, 2017

Todd Albright – Detroit Twelve String, Blues & Rags
John Andrews & The Yawns – Bad Posture
Animals As Leaders – The Madness of Many
Booher – Funny Tears
Buzzcocks – Time’s Up!
Neko Case – Live From Austin, TX
Steve Earle – Live From Austin, TX

Livy Ekememzie – Friday Night
Flagship – The Electric Man
Thomas Giles- Velcro Kid
Greg Graffin – Millport
Ha Ha Tonka – Heart-Shaped Mountain
Heath Green & The Makeshifters – S/T
Insane Clown Posse – Tunnel of Love
George Jones & The Smoky Mountain Boys

Richard Laviolette – Taking The Long Way Home
Magnetic Fields – 50 Song Memoir
Laura Marling – Semper Femina

Jon McKiel – Memorial Ten Cont
R. Stevie Moore & Jason Falkner – Make It Big
Night Riots – Love Gloom
Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band – Front Porch Sessions
Porter Ray – Watercolor
Rolling Blackouts C.F. – The French Press
The Shins – Heartworms

Sir Was – Digging A Tunnel
Elliott Smith – Either/Or Expanded Edition
Jay Som – Everybody Works
Soundgarden – Ultramega OK
Marty Stuart – Way Out West

Thundercat – Drunk
Paul Weller – Music From The Film Jawbone
Various – Keb Darge & Cut Chemist – The Dark Side: 30 Sixties Garage, Punk & Psych Monsters

FRIDAY, MARCH 3rd, 2017

Animal Collective – Hollindagain
Balto – Strangers
Besnard Lakes – Are The Divine Wind
Bleached – Can You Deal?
James Brown – (Can You) Feel It!
Guy Clark – Best of the Dualtone Years
FKA Twigs – EP1
Gabriella Cohen – Full Closure & No Details
Cramps – Psychedelic Jungle
Damu The Fudgemunk – T.E.K.S.
Epic Soundtracks – Change My Life
Findlay – Forgotten Pleasures
Grandaddy – Last Place
Francoise Hardy – Le Danger
Francoise Hardy – Soleil
Ibibio Sound Machine – Uyai
Robert Johnson – King of the Delta Blues Singers
Methyl Ethyl – Everything is Forgotten
Charles Mingus – Mingus Ah Um
Minus The Bear – Voids
Monkees – Head (Alternative)
The Muffs – Happy Birthday To Me
Sampha – Process
Sleaford Mods – English Tapas
Son Volt – Notes of Blue Limited vinyl LP pressing. 2017 release from the alt. Country/Americana outfit. Led by the songwriting and vocals of Jay Farrar, Son Volt was one of the most instrumental and influential bands in launching the alt. Country movement of the 1990’s. A movement that was the precursor to what is now widely referred to as Americana. The 10 songs on Notes Of Blue are inspired by the spirit of the blues, but not the standard blues as most know it. The unique and haunting tunings of Mississippi Fred McDowell, Skip James and Nick Drake were all points of exploration for Farrar for this collection. The album opens with the country soul of “Promise The World”, followed by “Back Against The Wall”, a song that could stand alongside the great Son Volt songs of their early albums. Farrar possesses one of the most distinctive voices in roots, rock, country or any genre. He exudes a soulful longing combined with a wise-beyond-his-years command that is as arresting and compelling as ever. As a songwriter, Farrar’s depth and poetic penchant has been the foundation of a thoughtful, deep and intelligent body of work. Both attributes are on full display on Notes Of Blue, as he touches on themes of redemption and the common struggle, both of which are at the core of the blues. Whether you call it alt. Country, Americana, roots rock, insurgent country or just good ol’ rock ‘n’ roll, musical trends appear and disappear on regular basis. Notes Of Blue is a testament to the legacy of inspiration and creative spirit that Jay Farrar and Son Volt continue to uphold.
Taking Back Sunday – S/T
Temples – Volcano
Muddy Waters – At Newport
Teddy Williams – Worry Off My Mind
Soundtrack – Tales From The Crypt Presents Demon Knight

Leave a Reply

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.